Azerbaijani MFA: Mammadyarov, Nalbandyan didn’t discuss creating any mechanisms


"During the meeting, the OSCEMinsk Group co-chairs proposed that the foreign ministers have a meeting on the sidelines of the UN General Assembly session this year, a proposal to which the Azerbaijani side consented,” Azerbaijan’s Foreign Ministry Spokesperson Hikmet Hajiyev said of the Brussels meeting on 11 July 2017 of the Azerbaijani and Armenian foreign ministers.


He noted that the co-chairs’ proposal to arrange a meeting of the Azerbaijani and Armenian presidents will be reported to the countries’ presidents by their foreign ministers.


"In the fall of 2017, the co-chairs are expected to pay another visit to the region. During the meeting, Foreign Minister Elmar Mammadyarov reiterated that in accordance with the current plans introduced by the co-chairs to deescalate the crisis and ensure security in the region, Armenia must withdraw its troops from Azerbaijani’s occupied territories,” Hikmet Hajiyev said.


Hajiyev noted that there was no discussion at the Mammadyarov-Nalbandyan meeting of creating any mechanisms.


The Nagorno-Karabakh conflict entered its modern phase when the Armenian SRR made territorial claims against the Azerbaijani SSR in 1988.


A fierce war broke out between Azerbaijan and Armenia over the Nagorno-Karabakh region of Azerbaijan. As a result of the war, Armenian armed forces occupied some 20 percent of Azerbaijani territory which includes Nagorno-Karabakh and seven adjacent districts (Lachin, KalbajarAghdamFuzuliJabrayilGubadli and Zangilan), and over a million Azerbaijanis became refugees and internally displaced people.


The military operations finally came to an end when Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in Bishkek in 1994.


Dealing with the settlement of the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict is the OSCEMinsk Group, which was created after the meeting of the CSCE (OSCE after the Budapest summit held in Dec.1994) Ministerial Council in Helsinki on 24 March 1992. The Group’s members include Azerbaijan, Armenia, Russia, the United States, France, Italy, Germany, Turkey, Belarus, Finland and Sweden.


Besides, the OSCE Minsk Group has a co-chairmanship institution, comprised of Russian, the US and French co-chairs, which began operating in 1994.  


Resolutions 822, 853, 874 and 884 of the UN Security Council, which were passed in short intervals in 1993, and other resolutions adopted by the UN General Assembly, PACEOSCE, OIC, and other organizations require Armenia to unconditionally withdraw its troops from Nagorno-Karabakh.


{if AIN::getLib('request')->isMobile() } {/if}